Worker's Compensation in Georgia (Part1)
Posted on Saturday, February 25th, 2017 at 4:48 pm
Today begins our three part series on Worker’s Compensation in the state of Georgia. In the first part we will provide a basic introduction to Worker’s Comp, part two will cover how to file a claim, and in the final part we will talk about 3rd party personal injury claims.
Part 1 – Introduction to Workers’ Compensation
Most of us don’t think about on the job injuries or workers’ compensation until after an accident has happened. We know this because we receive many phone calls from new clients who have been injured and have no idea what their next step should be. The skilled and professional lawyers at Brockman Injury Law are always here to answer any questions you may have, but we also want you to have any information you may need to make the right choice when you have been injured on the job.
Below you will find some commonly asked questions and answers about workers’ compensation in the state of Georgia. Please be aware that from time to time laws are modified and these answers may change and we highly recommend speaking with an attorney experienced in workers’ compensation law.
What is workers’ compensation?
Workers’ compensation is accident insurance that provides wage replacement and medical benefits for injuries and diseases that occur as a result of employment. In return the injured employee relinquishes the right to sue his or her employer for negligence.
How do I determine if my employer is covered by workers’ compensation?
Any business with 3 or more workers is required by law to provide workers’ compensation insurance. Verify your employer’s workers’ compensation coverage.
How long do I have to work for a company to be covered under worker’s compensation?
You are covered from your first day on the job.
When should I report an on the job accident?
Immediately report any injuries to your employer. Failure to report a claim in a timely manner may cause you to lose benefits.
Can I go to my own doctor?
In most cases, no. Your employer will have posted information that identifies approved medical care providers. This post will consist of either a list of Physicians with no less than 6 doctors, or the name of the Workers’ Compensation Managed Care Organization.
Will I have to pay for the doctor?
No. If you have been injured on the job your company’s workers’ compensation insurance carrier will pay for authorized medical treatment. This includes doctor and hospital bills, surgeries, physical therapy, prescriptions, and rehabilitation.
When will I receive my benefits, how much will they be, and how long will they last?
If you are unable to work for more than 7 days you are entitled to benefits. If you were injured after 7/1/15 your benefits will be two-thirds of your average weekly wage, and no more than $550 per week. If you were injured after 7/1/92 your benefits can last up to 400 weeks. There are circumstances in which you may be entitled to lifetime benefits.
We hope this better informs you of your rights and gives you an insight into what to expect when you have been injured on the job. Of course, these are basic questions and we know many of you may have more detailed questions specific to your case, if so, please contact one of our three office locations in the metro Atlanta area.