Tips to Remember After a Slip and Fall Accident in Georgia

Tips to Remember After a Slip and Fall Accident in Georgia

Posted on Friday, April 26th, 2019 at 8:45 pm    

After a slip, trip, or fall that occurs at a business, many injured victims do not know what appropriate actions to take. To make matters worse, these types of accidents typically occur in front of other people, causing embarrassment. The feeling of embarrassment typically causes individuals to take actions they would not normally take, such as immediately getting up and walking away. Although this is a normal instinct, it sometimes impacts a victim’s ability to recover compensation through a personal injury claim; the defendant will say that the victim was not really injured because he or she was able to walk away from the incident. The following is a list of some tips to remember in case of a slip, trip, or fall in the state of Georgia.
Determine the Cause of Your Injury
A slip, trip, or fall accident can occur anywhere at any time. After an incident, it is important to determine the cause of your injury if at all possible. To do this, you should take note of the substance or object that was the cause of the accident. You should take note of its texture, appearance, size or any other relevant points. Even if you cannot identify the actual substance or object, gather as much information and photographic evidence as possible. Establishing the cause of an injury is crucial to a negligence claim. The injured party bears the burden of proving that the defendant breached a duty owed. Simply being able to describe the item as a “grimy substance with many footprints” may be sufficient to prove negligence.
Take Prompt Action
After a slip trip or fall, promptly seek proper medical attention. While many injured people seek to quickly remove themselves from the situation by getting up and walking away, they may not initially realize the extent of their injuries. Injuries may become apparent in the days following the incident. An injured individual should immediately seek medical attention to determine whether he or she has been injured and the extent of any damages.
Preserve Your Claim
The most important step in any personal injury action is to preserve your claim. The statute of limitations for tort claims in Georgia is two years. Generally, this means that a claim must be filed within three years of the cause of action giving rise to the personal injury claim. Otherwise, your claim will be barred, which prevents any type of recovery from the negligent party. Georgia sets out some exceptions to the two year statute of limitations to apply in limited circumstances, including fraud or disability.
Contact Experienced Slip, Trip, and Fall Attorneys
If you have been injured in a slip, trip, or fall in Georgia, contact an experienced attorney for an initial consultation. We will evaluate the facts and circumstances existing in your case to determine whether you have a valid claim of recovery. The attorneys of Jonathan R. Brockman, a personal injury law firm, have offices across the state. Contact us today for a free consultation.

Recent Victories

$2,650,000

Settlement

Automobile Collision

$1,650,000

Resolved

Motorcycle Accident

$325,000

Settlement

Foreign objects in Food

$281,000

Verdict

Pedestrian Accident

$225,000

Settlement

Automobile Collision

$175,000

Settlement

Dog Injuries

$150,000

Settlement

Automobile Collision

$100,000

Resolved

Dog Bite

View All Results

Request A Consultation

CALL US AT (770) 205-8827 OR USE THE FORM BELOW

TO REQUEST A FREE CASE EVALUATION.